How we work

The IUA is governed by a Council/Board of Directors made up of the Presidents of the seven member universities.
Our activities are run through a network of committees and working groups as follows:

IUA Council

IUA Council

Chair: Dr Paddy Prendergast, Provost, Trinity College Dublin


  • Prof Brian MacCraith, President, Dublin City University
  • Prof Philip Nolan, President, Maynooth University
  • Prof Ciarán O’hÓgartaigh, President, NUI Galway
  • Prof Pat O’Shea, President, University College Cork
  • Prof Andrew Deeks, President, University College Dublin
  • Prof Des Fitzgerald, President, University of Limerick

Supported by: Jim Miley, IUA Director General –

Standing Groups

University Chief Finance Officers

Chair: Mr. Peter Reynolds, Interim Chief Financial Officer, TCD


  • Ciaran McGivern, Director of Finance, DCU
  • Dr. Mike O’Malley, Bursar & Secretary, MU
  • Ms. Sharon Bailey, Bursar, NUI Galway
  • Mr. Diarmuid Collins, Finance Officer, UCC
  • Mr. David Kelly, Vice President for Finance/Bursar, UCD
  • Mr. John Field, Director of Finance, UL

Supported by: Michael Casey, IUA Director of Finance & Operations


Chair: Prof Jürgen Barkhoff, Vice Provost/Chief Academic Officer, TCD


  • Prof Eithne Guilfoyle, VP Academic Affairs/Registrar, DCU
  • Professor Pól O’Doghartaigh, Registrar & Deputy President, NUI Galway
  • Professor Mark Rogers, Vice President for Academic Affairs, UCD
  • Mr. Gerry O’Brien, Chief Operating Officer and Registrar, UL
  • Prof Aidan Mulkeen, Vice President Academic, Registrar & Deputy President, MU
  • Prof John O’Halloran, Deputy President & Registrar, UCC
  • Dr. Attracta Halpin, Registrar, NUI

Supported by: Lewis Purser, IUA Director of Academic Affairs, Learning & Teaching

VP/Deans of Research

Chair: Prof Linda Doyle, Vice President for Research, TCD


  • Prof. Greg Hughes, Vice President for Research & Innovation, DCU
  • Prof. Lokesh Joshi, Vice President for Research, NUI Galway
  • Prof. Orla Feely, Vice President for Research, Innovation & Impact, UCD
  • Dr. Puneet Saidha, Director, Research Support Services (Acting VP for Research), UL
  • Prof. Ray O’Neill, Vice President for Research & Innovation, MU
  • Prof. Anita Maguire, Vice President for Research & Innovation, UCC

Supported by: Dr Lisa Keating, IUA Director of Research & Innovation


Chair: Mr. John Coman, Secretary to the College, TCD


  • Dr. Declan Raftery, Chief Operations Officer, DCU
  • Mr. Gearoid O Conluain, Secretary to the College, NUI Galway
  • Mr. Julian Bostridge, Director of Legal Services, UCD
  • Ms. Callista Bennis, Corporate Secretary, UL
  • Dr. Mike O’Malley, Bursar & Secretary, MU
  • Ms. Nora Geary, Corporate Secretary UCC

Supported by: Aidan Mullany, IUA Asst. Director Finance & Ops and Head of Governance

HR Directors

Chair: Ms. Antoinette Quinn, Director of Human Resources, TCD


  • Ms. Marian Burns, Director of Human Resources, DCU
  • Ms. Josephine Hynes, Director of Human Resources, NUI Galway
  • Mr. Tristan Aitken, Director of Human Resources, UCD
  • Mr. Andrew Flaherty, Director of Human Resources, UL
  • Ms. Rosaleen McCarthy, Director of Human Resources, MU
  • Mr. Barry O’Brien, Human Resource Director, UCC
  • Mr. Tony McMahon, IUA HR Lead

Supported by: Jim Miley, IUA Director General –

International Directors

Chair: Fedelma McNamara, Director of Internationalization, TCD


  • Paul Smith, Director of International Affairs, DCU
  • Anna Cunningham, Director of International Affairs, NUI Galway
  • Dr. Douglas Proctor, Director of International Affairs, UCD
  • Josephine Page,  Head of International Division, UL
  • Fiona Reynolds, Acting Director of Internationalization, MU
  • Dr. Christopher Brown, Director of International Office, UCC

Supported by: Jennifer Cleary, Head of International Affairs and Equality, Diversity & Inclusion

VPs for Equality, Diversity & Inclusion

Chair: Prof. Clodagh Brook, Associate Vice-Provost for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, TCD


  • Sandra Healy, Head of Diversity and Inclusion, DCU
  • Prof. Anne Scott, Vice-President for Equality & Diversity, NUI Galway
  • Prof. Colin Scott, Vice President for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, UCD
  • Prof. Ita Richardson, Associate Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Information Systems, UL
  • Dr. Seamus Taylor, Lecturer in Dept of Applied Social Studies, MU
  • Karl Kitching, Director of Equality, Diversity & Inclusion, UCC

Supported by: Jennifer Cleary, Head of Equality, Diversity & Inclusion and International Affairs

Communications Directors

Chair: Tom Molloy, Director of Public Affairs and Communications, TCD


  • Celine Crawford, Director of Communications, DCU
  • Lorna Farren, Director of Marketing and Communications, NUI Galway
  • Eilis O’Brien, Director of Communication and Marketing, UCD
  • Sheena Doyle, Communications Manager, UL
  • Rebecca Doolin, Director of External Relations, MU
  • Donna O’Driscoll, Director of Marketing and Communications, UCC

Supported by: Lia Sullivan, IUA Head of Communications

Sub Committees & Working Groups (WG)


  • Finance Managers Group
  • Taxation WG
  • Pensions WG
  • University Procurement & Contract Officers (UPCOG)
  • Full Economic Costing (FEC) Managers Group
  • Research Accountants Group

Academic Affairs

  • Quality Committee
  • Admissions Officers
  • Deans of Graduate Studies
  • Deans of Learning & Teaching


  • Research Directors
  • Research Officers
  • Research Integrity Forum


  • Campus Engage Steering Group
  • Engaged Research WG
  • Student Volunteering WG
  • Impact WG
  • Community Based Learning and Teaching WG

Special Projects

  • Digital Capacity in T&L Steering Group
  • Digital Capacity in T&L Project WG

Human Resources

  • Employee Relations
  • HR Recruitment
  • Irish Universities Training Network

Access & Equality

  • Equality Officers
  • Access Steering Group
  • Access Communications Group
  • DARE/HEAR Operations subgroup
  • Further Education Progression subgroup
  • Part-time/Flexible learning subgroup

Governance & Key Services

  • Librarians Group
  • Governance Committee
  • Sustainability WG
  • Legal Services WG
  • ICT Directors Group
  • Data Protection Officers
  • Universities Internal Audit Group

External Working Groups

  • Steering Group
  • Communications WG
  • Irish Universities Students Services Network
  • RFAM Implementation Group
  • Student Accommodation Working Group
  • IDA Ireland Technology Talent Forum
  • Dept of Education Internationalization High Level Group